Dear Perth

{press play then proceed to read}

Dear Perth

After five years it’s time we call it quits.
I don’t know where to start or how to end it but let me try to do both.

You’ve given me the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. The sunniest of days and the longest of wet winters. You showed me the reddest dirt next to an aquamarine ocean. You gave me sunsets over beaches. You took me up highways of wide open spaces that made me think of God. I’ve seen blue skies, flooded roadways, snakes, big trucks carrying even bigger trucks. I’ve yelled at the notoriously idiotic drivers, complained about the lack of Sunday trading and daylight savings time. I’ve wondered how the people can be so strange and why a river can cause such a north/south division. I met a guy who taught me about scarification and another who introduced me to his mother. I ended a friendship and started many others. People saw me at my best and some saw me at my very worst.
They call it the Wait Awhile state and they’re not lying, but for some reason, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

The people I’ve met here, the ones who I will carry as charms on the bracelet of my heart, are some of the best people, the most beautiful people who forever amaze and inspire me to dream, live and see the beauty. I have watched as each and every one of them has walked away knowing full well that even though I am insisting on “see ya later”‘s that it really is a “goodbye”, because even though we may see one another again we will never be who we are in that moment ever again.

Thank you for the laughter, the sunshine, the warmth on my back and the unforgettable memories. Thank you for trying to break me, for giving me the space to figure out who I am and who I want to be. Thank you for still not revealing to myself what it is I will do when I grow up, but thank you for helping me narrow down my options. Thank you for the love, and maybe even the devastating heart break.

But it’s time to go, because for all the reasons I’ve told you and maybe a couple of others I didn’t, I need to keep on keeping on if I’m ever to find where I belong.

I’m no good at goodbye’s and this time is no exception so, until next time…
Love xxx

{the track was Let There Be Lonely sung by Jonathan Jackson}

Leave a comment